For creating a playlist, you should have your media uploaded. So if you have not uploaded yet, please visit Uploading Media section. 

This article answers the question listed below.

A) How do I create a Playlist?
B)
How do I add media to the Playlist?
C)
How do I add website to the Playlist?
D)
How do I add/edit html widget to the Playlist?
E)
How do I set duration for the items I add?
F)
How do I order/remove rows?
G)
How do I copy/duplicate an item?
H)
How do I save the content?

A) How do I create a Playlist?

  • Go to Contents section. This section is the place where you will see the playlists you created as a list. Click on the Create button to create a new playlist.
  • Enter a name for your playlist, select playlist plugin and press Create button. 
  • Now you have created your playlist, and you have been directly navigated to the playlist detail page. You can add media from your media library or enter a web site link.

B) How do I add media to the playlist?

  • Click on Add New Item button.
  • When you click Select Media button, your media library opens. You can search with the file name from the top of the window.
  • Select the files you would like to display on your playlist and click Add to Content
  • Your media will appear in the playlist.

C) How do I add website to the playlist?

  • Click on Add New Item button.
  • Click Add Website, enter the URL, then click Okay

D) How do I add/edit HTML to the playlist?

  • Click on Add HTML button.
  • Paste the HTML Code to the black area. Enter a widget name and click Add Widget.
  • You can edit the HTML Widget after you add it. Click Edit HTML button and update your code.

E) How do I set duration for the items I add?

Every row in the playlist has a duration field.

  • Images and websites come with a default duration of 10 seconds. You can change their duration from the duration field. 
  • Videos come with their original duration. You can shorten them by changing the duration. In that case, video stops when it reaches to the duration you entered, and the next item starts to play.

F) How do I order and remove rows?

  • You can click and hold anywhere on the media or web site rows; drag the row; and drop them according to the order you want them to be displayed.
  • You can remove a row by clicking on the Remove button that appears when you bring your cursor on the row.

G) How do I copy/duplicate an item?

  • If you would like to display an image, video or website more than once in a loop, you can duplicate a row by clicking on the Duplicate button (see picture on 5.2) that appears when you bring your cursor on the row.

H) How do I save the content?

All the actions you make on the content page are automatically saved. But there are 4 different statuses of a saved content, from Draft to Alive. To publish a content, you must bring the status to Alive.

Different user roles have different permissions on content saving and changing content statuses. For more information on user roles, visit User Roles and Permissions.

Here are all the 4 statuses of a content and how to alter statuses:

I) Draft

Any new content is in "draft" status. When you finish editing the content, click Request Approval button.

You can still make changes after requesting approval. However the status becomes draft again, and you request approval one more time

II) Waiting for Approval

When a content is requested for approval, its status become "waiting for approval".

If the content is right, you can click Approve button. If not, you can make changes, and then click Approve. 

III) Approved
After approving the content, the status becomes "approved". Only approved content can be altered to Alive status. To do this, click Go Live button.

At this stage, unlike waiting for approval status, any change on the content makes the status go back to Draft

IV) Alive
When you click Go Live, content status becomes "alive", and now you it is ready for publishing on a device, which will be covered in Publishing.

When you make changes on a content which is "alive", the status becomes "draft"again. But it does not have an effect on what is displayed, until you request approval, approve, go live, and bring the status to Alive.

The statuses and edits are visible to every user. All users see the content in the last form and last status saved. 


_______

Next: 4.3 Editing a Playlist

Previous:
4.1 Uploading Media

_______

Related Articles:

5.2 Assign Playlists to a Channel
5.4 Scheduling a Playlist
6.3 Creating a Sync Playlist

Did this answer your question?